English thoughts

Job search – take 2

My contract for the masters ends in October. The school ends in November. Job search is back on!

I’m writing this article for 2 simple reasons : one of you might know someone who knows someone who is looking for a profile like mine AND some of you are surely looking for a job in this moment and having a tuff time with it.

So…this is how I do it…

First of all, figure out what it is that I’m looking for. Otherwise….it can literally pass next to me and I wouldn’t see it. So…for me…the dream job would encourage me to use my existing skills: strong communication, customer oriented, commercial, intercultural, multiple spoken languages… but also push me to develop new ones, as I am quite a curious person.
Writing all these down is a great way to make things clear. It also allows me to read them again and again and to adjust them if needed.

Once the target is set up, the strategy needs to be defined.
My strategy? Developing my network. Conferences, workshops, Linkedin, Internations and talking about my project to whoever might be interested. It allows me to refine the pitch and to have some objective feedback.

Working my CV is a must. After all, people use internet to have more details about persons that they don’t know. That’s why online profiles should always reflect a very good image of yourself. And updated…always up to date!

Now I’m working on my “favorite employers” list. A rigorous selection followed by information gathering. To the point where if I get the chance to talk with the manager of one of these companies, I would feel like I’m already a member of their team. It gives a certain familiarity to the conversation. Plus that I will be able to sustain the affirmation “I love your business model”.

Searching for job openings is also an important part of the process. Nowadays there are job announces all over. It takes great filtering skills in order to find the ones you are really interested into. Practice makes better!

I now have 5 or 6 job announces that kept my attention. Preparing a contact message and method is the next step. It is all a case by case scenario. I know that I will not be able to get this job, as my contract ends in November. But it is my occasion to get in touch with the company and let them know I’ll be interested soon into a collaboration with them. We all know how long it can be to get an appointment with the right person…

Once the meeting obtained, it is all magic. Me charming them. Because I already know I’m the right person for the job. I’ve done my homework before!

Long story short, this is how 9 months look like when you’re looking for a job. That is…if you do have 9 months. If not, you just press the fast forward button and sleep less. 🙂

Know yourself as much as you can. Your strong points as well as your weak points. Know your competition. Know your options. Know your opportunities. In other words, be prepared! It’s a tuff world out there!

Standard

Leave a Reply

